Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

Dr. Bucshon Applauds Overturning of Abortion Funding Regulation

April 13, 2017
Press Release

Dr. Bucshon Applauds Overturning of Abortion Funding Regulation

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – On Thursday, President Donald Trump signed into law H.J. Res. 43, a measure supported by Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. that overturns a last-minute Obama Administration regulation forcing states to use taxpayer dollars to fund abortion providers.  

"This resolution restores states’ rights and reaffirms our commitment that Americans not be forced to send their hard-earned tax dollars to abortion providers,” said Bucshon. “I thank President Trump for joining with Congress to move this pro-life victory forward.”

Now law, H.J. Res. 43 will empower states like Indiana to determine how best to allocate Title X funds and ensure the resources go to health care providers that offer essential services to patients, but do not perform abortions.

The resolution is a part of an effort by Congress to exercise its authority under the Congressional Review Act (CRA) to roll back onerous regulations set forth at the end of the Obama Administration.

Under the Congressional Review Act – a law passed in 1996 that established special congressional procedures for disapproving regulatory actions taken by federal agencies – Congress can roll back regulations by a simple majority in both chambers of Congress and a signature by the President.

H.J. Res 43 is the thirteenth measure signed into law by President Trump under the Congressional Review Act. A full list can be accessed here.

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his third term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.