Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

Dr. Bucshon Echoes Concern with Administration’s Ransom Payment to Iran

August 3, 2016
Press Release

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) –Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. echoed House Speaker Paul Ryan’s call for accountability and an explanation regarding the Administration’s reported $400 million cash ransom payment to the Islamic Republic of Iran.

“The Obama Administration should immediately provide an explanation to the American people and Congress regarding reports that it paid $400 million in cash as a ransom to the world’s leading state-sponsor of terrorism and should be held accountable if those reports are true,” said Bucshon. 

In a statement, Speaker of the House Paul Ryan said, “If true, this report confirms our longstanding suspicion that the administration paid a ransom in exchange for Americans unjustly detained in Iran. It would also mark another chapter in the ongoing saga of misleading the American people to sell this dangerous nuclear deal. Yet again, the public deserves an explanation of the lengths this administration went to in order to accommodate the world's leading state sponsor of terrorism."


According to a reporter by the Wall Street Journal, “the Obama administration secretly organized an airlift of $400 million worth of cash to Iran that coincided with the January release of four Americans detained in Tehran,” as a down payment on $1.7 billion the U.S. Treasury Department paid to Iran.  

According to the State Department, the Islamic Republic of Iran has been officially designated a State-Sponsor of Terrorism dating back to 1984.

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his third term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.