Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

Dr. Bucshon to Host U.S. Service Academy Day

April 26, 2017
Press Release

Dr. Bucshon to Host U.S. Service Academy Day

(EVANSVILLE, IN) – Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. will host an informational session for all high school students interested in applying to one of the U.S. Service Academies on Saturday, April 29, 2017.

WHO:                 Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. (IN-08)

WHAT:               2017 Spring U.S. Service Academy Day

WHEN:               Saturday, April 29th, 9:00am to 11:00am CT (Registration begins at 8:30am CT)

WHERE:            VU Gibson County Center for Advanced Manufacturing and Logistics – 8100 South U.S. Highway 41 Fort Branch, Indiana 47648

The event will offer Eighth District high school students the opportunity to learn more about the United States Service Academies, the application process, congressional nominations, and the everyday life of a Service Academy Cadet.

Representatives from these five academies have been invited:

  • The U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, CO
  • The U.S. Coast Guard Academy in New London, CT
  • The U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY
  • The U.S. Military Academy in West Point, NY 
  • The U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD

Each year, Congressman Bucshon has the privilege of nominating a limited number of high school students to attend four of the five service academies. The deadline to apply for a congressional nomination from Bucshon’s office for the class of 2022 is October 6, 2017.

For more information on the application process, students can visit - or contact Erin Lucas in Congressman Bucshon’s District Office at 812-232-0523.                        

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his fourth  term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties. ###