Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

Dr. Bucshon Recognized by National Health Leaders for Leadership in Healthcare Innovation

May 19, 2016
Press Release

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) –Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. was named a “Champion of Healthcare Innovation” by the Healthcare Leadership Council (HLC), a coalition of leaders of the nation’s premier healthcare companies and organizations.

“Policy at the federal level must help spur innovation, research, and development for the United States to remain a world leader in healthcare,” said Bucshon. “As one of only a few physicians in Congress, I’m leading the fight to make sure Washington, D.C. does not get in the way of cutting edge medical advancements that will undoubtedly improve the lives of patients across the country.”


The award presentation took place at the Council’s annual Healthcare Innovations Expo on Capitol Hill. The day-long event is dedicated to showcasing new developments in health care technologies, treatments and practices.  This year’s event featured, among other displays, emerging cancer therapies, virtual reality technologies to assist veterans with post-combat stress challenges, and uses of health data sharing to combat opioid abuse and addiction.

“We’re on the verge of a remarkable era in American healthcare.  Genomic and biologic research, improved data analytics, and advanced mobile technologies are enabling people to live longer, healthier lives,” said HLC President Mary R. Grealy. “To continue this exciting transformation, we need visionary leadership and sound policymaking.  We honored Representative Bucshon for providing important advocacy and leadership for patients and consumers.”

The Healthcare Leadership Council is a coalition of chief executives of the nation’s leading health care companies and institutions.

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his third term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.