Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

Dr. Bucshon’s Statement on Anthem, MDwise Exiting Obamacare Exchange

June 21, 2017
Press Release

Dr. Bucshon’s Statement on Anthem, MDwise Exiting Obamacare Exchange

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) –  Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. released the following statement regarding announcements made by Anthem and MDwise that the insurers plan to exit the 2018 Obamacare exchange in Indiana:

“Obamacare is in a death spiral. Across the country, the exchanges are collapsing leaving patients without affordable health care options – if they have options at all,” said Bucshon. “In Indiana, premiums have skyrocketed an average of 74 percent and now some patients won’t have access to a single insurer on the exchanges in 2018. It’s clear that without action, Obamacare will continue to implode, putting even more Americans at risk until the exchanges collapse entirely.  We can’t delay taking action any longer. We have to get our bill that repeals and replaces this failed law to President Trump to rescue Americans who have nowhere to turn.”

With the departure of Anthem and MDwise, patients in 60 of Indiana’s 92 counties will have access to only one insurer on the Obamacare exchange. In the Eighth Congressional District, two counties (Warrick and Posey) will be left with no options at all.


Below are graphics put together by Axios based on data from the Kaiser Family Foundation for the ACA marketplaces showing the limited options for patients across the country. According to the publication, “you can really see the difference in 2017, when high-profile insurance exits left 21 percent of all ACA customers with only one insurer in their area.”



The full Axios story as well as the 2014 and 2015 graphics can be accessed here:

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his fourth term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.