Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

Dr. Bucshon Votes for a Balanced Budget Blueprint, Sets the Stage for the Middle-Income Tax Relief

October 5, 2017
Press Release

Dr. Bucshon Votes for a Balanced Budget Blueprint, Sets the Stage for the Middle-Income Tax Relief

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. (IN-08) released the following statement after the House of Representatives passed the 2018 budget blueprint, “Building A Better America”:


“All across Indiana, Hoosier families sit around the kitchen table every day and make tough decisions about the family budget, figuring out how to send a child to college, save for a new home, or just to make ends meet. For too long, Washington has avoided making the tough decisions Hoosier families have to make, and as a result, we have a national debt that exceeds $20 trillion – almost $162,000 per American household, on average. To pass along this debt and a downsized American Dream to our children and our grandchildren would be irresponsible and immoral,” said Dr. Bucshon. “The House-passed budget puts us on a fiscally-responsible path to ensure that we don’t leave future generations with little more than a legacy of debt. It ensures that key priorities, like our nation’s military, receive the resources needed while also saving and strengthening important programs like Medicare and Medicaid for our nation’s seniors and most vulnerable citizens. Most importantly, the budget provides the pathway for reforming our nation’s broken tax code. Delivering middle-income tax relief will allow American businesses to compete on a level playing field and provide working families more money in their paychecks. For generations, the American Dream was alive and well, and this House-passed budget will build a robust America for generations to come.”              


For more information on the 2018 budget blueprint, you can visit


Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his fourth term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.