Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

Dr. Bucshon Votes for Historic Tax Reform

November 16, 2017
Press Release

Dr. Bucshon Votes for Historic Tax Reform

(Washington, D.C.) – Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. (IN-08) released the following statement after the House of Representatives passed the Tax Cuts & Jobs Act (H.R. 1):

The status quo is simply not working for hard-working Americans. The 70,000 pages of the current tax code are littered with special interest loopholes that benefit the few Americans who can afford to take advantage of them at the expense of middle-income families. Our nation has the highest corporate tax rate in the industrialized world and an outdated international tax system – which hurts the ability of American businesses to compete in a global economy. 

“Hoosier families and businesses want and deserve a tax code that is fairer, flatter, simpler, and protects American jobs and paychecks. This is exactly the reform that the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act will deliver. Under this plan, hard-working American families will, on average, get a $1,182 tax cut enabling them to keep more of their hard-earned money in their pockets.  By simplifying the tax code, this plan will allow the majority of Americans to file their taxes on a post card.  The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act will also level the playing field for American businesses struggling to compete in a global marketplace and protect American jobs – growing paychecks for current workers and spurring the creation of new jobs here at home.  The American people want a growing economy that boosts wages and job opportunities – and the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act will do just that.”

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his fourth term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.