Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

Dr. Bucshon Votes to Strengthen America’s “Architecture of Abundance”

January 21, 2015
Press Release

(WASHINGTON, DC) – On Wednesday, the House passed H.R. 161, the Natural Gas Pipeline Permitting Reform Act, a bill that clears bureaucratic red tape for natural gas pipeline permitting by expediting and modernizing the federal review process. H.R. 161 helps facilitate the construction of new pipeline infrastructure needed to help transport the nation’s growing natural gas supply to markets and consumers who need it.

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. released the following statement after voting to approve H.R. 161:

 “America is on the verge of an energy revolution if we can just get past outdated bureaucratic hurdles. Natural gas is a critical component of our all-of-the-above energy portfolio. Unfortunately, we don’t have the necessary pipeline infrastructure in place to move the supply to markets and consumers. Regions of the country are facing shortages because of this structural deficit, causing prices to be volatile. For instance, during the polar vortex last year the Northeast saw costs double. As our energy landscape continues to evolve, our infrastructure must be modernized to meet the country’s energy needs and secure the electric grid. This bill gets government red tape out of the way so the private sector can innovate to strengthen our architecture of abundance, creating jobs and lowering the cost of energy.”

More on the Energy and Commerce Committee’s efforts to take full advantage of America’s “Architecture of Abundance,” is available here.

Congressman Larry Bucshon, a physician from Southern Indiana, is serving his third term in the U.S. House of Representatives. In the 114th Congress, Bucshon will serve on the influential House Committee on Energy and Commerce.  The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.