Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Welcome to Congressman Larry Bucshon

Representing the 8th District of Indiana

After 28 Hours of Debate, Dr. Bucshon Votes to Advance the American Health Care Act

March 9, 2017
Press Release

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Following nearly 28 hours of debate in the House Energy and Commerce Committee, Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. voted to approve legislation as a part of the process to repeal Obamacare and replace it with patient-centered reforms that drive down costs and expand access to quality health care.

“We are on a rescue mission and if we don’t act now, families across the country will have nowhere to go as Obamacare continues in a death spiral,” said Bucshon.

“The American Health Care Act repeals the big-government mandates and costly taxes in the law and replaces it with common-sense reforms that lower costs, expand access, and uphold critical patient protections like coverage for preexisting conditions.

“This is truly a historic opportunity to fulfill our promise to the American people and we are committed to a thoughtful, transparent process to ensure we get this right on behalf of patients across the country. Our hearings this week represent the first step in the process to begin a stable transition to a patient-centered health care system.”

The American Health Care Act is undergoing a weeks-long, open and transparent process that includes the work of four separate House committees. This week, the legislation advanced through both the Energy and Commerce Committee, of which Dr. Bucshon is a member, and the Ways and Means Committee.  

The full text of the bill can be accessed at and a fact sheet can be accessed by clicking here.

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his third term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.