Skip to Content

Press Releases

Dr. Bucshon Votes to Divert Planned Parenthood Funds

On Friday, Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon released the following statement after voting for H.R. 3134, the Defund Planned Parenthood Act of 2015, a bill to defund Planned Parenthood and fund federally qualified health centers and rural health centers that do not perform abortions.

“As a physician, I’m proud to support this legislation to redirect federal funds from Planned Parenthood to federally qualified health centers that provide better, more comprehensive health services and do not perform abortions,” said Bucshon. “I’ve operated on babies as young as 23 weeks gestation. In fact, the smallest baby I operated on weighed only 650 grams. I found the callous, cavalier nature of the recently released Planned Parenthood videos appalling and cannot, in good conscious, support allowing taxpayer dollars to fund these activities.”


Below is a table comparing the health services available at Planned Parenthood Facilities vs. Federally Qualified Health Centers:

Table complied by the Alliance Defending Freedom with data from Planned Parenthood and Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

The United States has over 13,000 federally qualified health centers and rural health centers. In comparison, there are less than 700 Planned Parenthood facilities that treat only two percent of the nation’s women for any reason.

Dr. Bucshon outlined these facts and responded to baseless attacks from House Democrats from the House floor:

In a House Energy and Commerce Health Subcommittee hearing on Thursday, Dr. Bucshon raised important questions regarding the lack of basic primary healthcare services, like mammograms, provided at Planned Parenthood. That video can be found here -

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his third term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.