Skip to Content

Press Releases

Bucshon Appointed to the Healthy Future Task Force to Advance GOP Patient-Focused Health Care Agenda

WASHINGTON – Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. announced that he has been appointed by House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy to the Healthy Future Task Force led by Energy and Commerce Health Subcommittee Republican Leader Brett Guthrie (KY-02) and Ways and Means Health Subcommittee Republican Leader Devin Nunes (CA-22). The Task Force will build on Republican health policy successes and craft a patient-focused agenda for the future.

“Since coming to Congress, I have worked to advance patient-centered health care reforms to ensure that patients have the care they deserve.  I am proud to join the Healthy Future Task Force to continue to modernize and improve health care that is personalized for Hoosiers and all Americans,” said Dr. Bucshon. 

Republicans have a long record of patient-oriented accomplishments including:

  • A Historic Ban on Surprise Medical Bills
  • 21st Century Cures
  • The Medicare Part D Prescription Drug Benefit for Seniors
  • Medicare Advantage
  • Expanding Telehealth
  • Record Investments in the NIH
  • Fighting the Opioid Epidemic
  • The Children’s Health Insurance Program
  • Protections for Patients with Pre-Existing Conditions

Democrats focus on top-down approaches, papering over the failures of our current programs and insisting on “one size fits all” government takeovers like Medicare for All. By contrast, Republicans believe in a more modern, innovative, and flexible agenda that emphasizes:

  • Lower costs,
  • Keeping people healthy,
  • Finding better therapies and cures,
  • And giving all Americans a wide array of choices to provide them with peace of mind. 

Over the next year and a half, the Healthy Future Task Force will listen, learn, and lead in developing this next chapter of our agenda. The Task Force will craft legislative proposals that Republicans can advance after retaking the majority. This agenda will focus on:

  • Breaking down barriers to help all Americans live healthier and longer
  • Increasing care choices
  • Expanding the range of available providers
  • Encouraging investment in new cures and therapies
  • Lowering the cost of health services
  • Providing a strong safety net for the most vulnerable Americans
  • Protecting access to care for all Americans
  • Ensuring patients remain in control of their health care

Other House Republicans appointed by Leader McCarthy to serve on the Task Force include:

Tom Cole (OK-04)

Morgan Griffith (VA-09)

Mike Kelly (PA-16)

Richard Hudson (NC-08)

Brad Wenstrup, D.P.M. (OH-02)

Rick Allen (GA-12)

Bruce Westerman (AR-04)

Jim Banks (IN-03)

Kevin Hern (OK-01)

John Joyce, M.D. (PA-13)

Greg Murphy, M.D. (NC-03)

Beth Van Duyne (TX-24)

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. (IA-02)

Victoria Spartz (IN-05)