Skip to Content

Press Releases

Dr. Bucshon Votes to Expedite VA Investigations

(Washington, D.C.) – Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. (IN-08) released the following statement after the House passed the Enhancing Veteran Care Act (S. 1266):

“Recently the VA has been under investigation for providing substandard care and putting the wellbeing and safety of its patients at risk. Our veterans should be able to count on receiving high-quality health care when they visit the VA because it’s care they’ve earned through their service to our nation in uniform. The Enhancing Veteran Care Act is yet another step that Congress is taking to hold the VA accountable and ensure veterans are receiving high-quality care by authorizing the use of outside nonprofit organizations that accredit health care organizations to investigate the care provided at VA medical centers.” Dr. Bucshon continued, “Our veterans deserve not only our respect and gratitude, but also our attention and action. I look forward to President Trump signing this into law so that we take yet another step to ensure our veterans are receiving the care they have earned through their service to our nation.”

For more information on the Enhancing Veteran Care Act, click HERE.

115th Congressional Legislation Signed into Law

H.R. 3819: The Department of Veterans Affairs Expiring Authorities Act of 2017

H.R. 3218: The Harry W. Colmery Veterans Educational Assistance Act of 2017

H.R. 2519: The American Legion 100th Anniversary Commemorative Coin Act

H.R. 2288: The Veterans Appeals Improvement and Modernization Act of 2017

H.R. 1329: The Veterans’ Compensation COLA Act of 2017

H.R. 244: HIRE Vets Act

S. 1094: The Department of Veterans Affairs Accountability and Whistleblower Protection Act of 2017

S. 114: A bill to authorize appropriations for the Veterans Choice Program

H.R. 369: Eliminating the Sunset Date of the Choice Act

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his fourth term representing Indiana's 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.